Highlights from Annual General Meeting

– Sault Area Hospital (SAH) held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on June 24, 2019. The AGM focused on the many successes over the last year, as well as the challenges faced and expectations for the future.  

One new Board Member, Johanne Messier-Mann, was elected to the Board of Directors for her 1st three-year term and one member, Mario Turco was reappointed for a 2nd three-year term. Thank you to our outgoing Board member, Connie Witty, who has dedicated over nine years of service to the Sault Area Hospital Board of Directors.

The AGM was highlighted by the annual presentation of the SAH iCcare Awards, established by the SAH Board in 2011. These awards acknowledge an employee, volunteer and physician who consistently demonstrate the values of SAH – Integrity, Compassion, Collaboration and Partnership, Accountability, Respect and Excellence. The 2019 recipients were Laura Andreychuk (employee), Beth Watson (volunteer) and Dr. Mark Edwards (physician).

The meeting concluded with the much-anticipated presentation of the prestigious Dr. William Hutchinson Award. Presented annually by the SAH Board of Directors, this award recognizes distinguished contributions to health care in Sault Ste. Marie and Algoma. The 2019 recipient was Karen Scott.    

SAH congratulates all award recipients for their dedicated service to the residents of Sault Ste. Marie and the Algoma region.

The 2018/2019 SAH Annual Report is available online at sah.on.ca

– 30 –