In 2011, the Sault Area Hospital Board of Directors established the iCcare Awards to recognize an employee, a volunteer, and a physician who regularly demonstrate the iCcare values of Sault Area Hospital:  Integrity, Compassion, Collaboration & Partnership, Accountability, Respect and Excellence. 

2022 Award Recipients

Congratulations to SAH’s 2022 iCcare Award Recipients!

CORY VIAL - iCcare Employee
iCcare Employee - Cory Vial

Employee iCcare Award: Cory Vial

Cory Vial is a Registered Nurse in the Emergency Department. Cory goes out of his way to help others – his patients, his colleagues, or someone he speaks to on the phone. He always meets people with a smile that lets them know he’s willing to help and be there for them. He is dedicated and compassionate. He is empathetic and understanding. He is knowledgeable and dependable. He is a leader and demonstrates this not only when he is the “lead nurse” for the day.

His work ethic and ability to put someone at ease despite their emergency are infectious, making Cory an essential part of the team in the Emergency Department. Cory has a calming demeanour when he speaks with patients and puts them at ease. He is honest, respectful and demonstrates integrity in all his interactions with patients. When patients talk to Cory, you can see their anxiety and fear transform into relief and reassurance.

Cory is an integral part of any team. He is always looking out for others, and his ability to look at the whole picture and know exactly what he needs to do to support and make a situation better. He identifies issues before they are problems, and he already has a solution or a recommendation as to how the issue can be remedied. Cory treats patients like they are his own family while still giving them their autonomy.

You can see a patient’s demeanour change when he interacts with them, and he puts people at ease with his infectious smile. Cory truly cares for the people he serves.

DR CASTELLANI - iCcare Physician
iCcare Physician - Dr. Lucas Castellani

Physician iCcare Award: Dr. Lucas Castellani

Dr. Lucas Castellani is an Infectious Diseases Specialist at SAH. He also serves as the Medical Director of the Medicine Program, the Medical Director and Chief of Infection Prevention & Control, and provides support to Antimicrobial Stewardship and Occupational Health.

In 2017, Dr. Castellani joined SAH and shortly after became the Infection and Prevention physician lead for our COVID-19 Pandemic response. He has worked tirelessly alongside the staff and leadership at SAH and in the community throughout the COVID-19 pandemic to provide his expertise and guidance. He has been an advocate, leader and partner to patients, SAH and the community.

He worked with SAH to develop the Monoclonal Therapy Clinic in our Ambulatory Care setting. This clinic was the first in the north to start providing this therapy and has helped other organizations develop similar clinics. He has been working to elevate the care we provide our patients, particularly around antibiotic stewardship and infectious diseases. He also assisted in the development of an app that could be used in the community to assist with COVID-19 contact tracing.

Dr. Castellani is always willing to lend his expertise to staff, colleagues and our care partners locally and beyond.

LOUIS FERRON - iCcare Volunteer
iCcare Volunteer - Louis Ferron

Volunteer iCcare Award: Louis Ferron

Louis Ferron is a volunteer Patient Advisor. He encompasses all of SAH’s values and is an inspirational member of several working groups and teams with meaningful contributions based on his extensive work experience and lived experience.

Louis has participated in numerous projects in the Emergency Department and Mental Health and Addictions Program, and his contributions are far-reaching. He has participated in many improvement projects and is passionate in all endeavours, demonstrated by his unrelenting enthusiasm. He consistently goes above and beyond by identifying opportunities to maximize his own involvement and commitment.

Louis is committed to working with the SAH team to advance patient-centred care and continuously improve the experience of patients. He brings a strong patient voice as an advisor and is always willing to share his honest perspective.

Louis is a champion for patients and their families, exemplifying compassion through projects such as the visitor policy and the Caregiver ID project.

He listens to the perspective of others and seeks to understand issues before problem-solving potential solutions. He works as part of the team, presents his ideas respectfully and tactfully, and is a mentor to his peers, always driving participation from others.

Louis is a dedicated volunteer who is committed to excellence.

Past iCcare Award Recipients

Nomination Information

Nominations for individuals (no group nominations) may be submitted by patients, staff, physicians, volunteers or members of our community to any one of the three award categories.

Our Staff - Labratory
Employee Award

A SAH Employee including EllisDon and Compass Staff

SAH Orthopedics Team
Physician Award

A Physician with SAH privileges

Sault Area Hospital Volunteers
Volunteer Award

A SAH Volunteer in good standing

  • iCcare EMPLOYEE – SAH Employee including those associated with the hospital, through EllisDon and Compass
  • iCcare PHYSICIAN – Physician with SAH privileges
  • iCcare VOLUNTEER – SAH Volunteer in good standing 

Nominations for individuals (no group nominations) may be submitted by patients, staff, physicians, volunteers or members of our community to any one of the three award categories.

The nomination process for 2022 is open until Friday, April 7, 2023 at 4:00 pm.

The Sault Area Hospital’s Board of Directors will review all nominations to make the selection of this year’s recipient.  All nominators and the recipient(s) will be notified of the Committee’s selection via letter after the May Board of Director’s meeting.

The award will be presented in the spring. Stay tuned for more information. 

Complete and submit one of the following iCcare Nomination Forms (below)

For more information on the iCcare Awards, contact Patti Armstrong at ext. 3497 or email