Highlights from 2022 Annual General Meeting

– Sault Area Hospital (SAH) held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on June 27, 2022. The AGM focused on the many successes over the last year, as well as the challenges faced and expectations for the future.  

Three new Board members were elected to the SAH Board. We welcome David Orazietti, Theresa Cassan and Lori Bertrand. We thank our outgoing board members, Mario Turco, and Kevin Rusnell, for their contributions and service. For 2021-2022, Brent Rankin will serve as Chair, Lisa Bell Murray as Vice Chair and Ila Watson as Secretary.

The AGM was highlighted by the annual presentation of the SAH iCcare Awards, established by the SAH Board in 2011. These awards acknowledge an employee, volunteer and physician who consistently demonstrate the values of SAH – Integrity, Compassion, Collaboration and Partnership, Accountability, Respect and Excellence. The 2022 recipients were Cory Vial (employee), Louis Ferron (volunteer) and Dr. Lucas Castellani (physician).

The meeting concluded with the much-anticipated presentation of the prestigious Dr. William Hutchinson Award. Presented annually by the SAH Board of Directors, this award recognizes distinguished contributions to health care in Sault Ste. Marie and Algoma. The 2022 recipient was Dr. Robert Maloney.       

SAH congratulates all award recipients for their dedicated service to the residents of Sault Ste. Marie and the Algoma region.

More information is available on our website at www.sah.on.ca