Highlights from 2021 Annual General Meeting

– Sault Area Hospital (SAH) held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on June 21, 2021. The AGM focused on the many successes over the last year, as well as the challenges faced and expectations for the future.  

One new Board Member, Antoinette Blunt, was elected to the Board of Directors for her 1st three-year term and two members were reappointed; Lisa Bell-Murray for a 3rd three-year term and Trevor Rachkowski for a 2nd three-year term. Thank you to our outgoing Board member, Jim McLean, who has dedicated 3 years of service to the Sault Area Hospital Board of Directors. Sharon Kirkpatrick will serve as Chair, Lisa Bell-Murray and Brent Rankin will serve as Vice Chairs and Wendy Hansson will serve as Secreatry.

The AGM was highlighted by the annual presentation of the SAH iCcare Awards, established by the SAH Board in 2011. These awards acknowledge an employee, volunteer and physician who consistently demonstrate the values of SAH – Integrity, Compassion, Collaboration and Partnership, Accountability, Respect and Excellence. The 2021 recipients were Chad Carter (employee), Rick Wark (volunteer) and Dr. Emmalee Marshall (physician).

The meeting concluded with the much-anticipated presentation of the prestigious Dr. William Hutchinson Award. Presented annually by the SAH Board of Directors, this award recognizes distinguished contributions to health care in Sault Ste. Marie and Algoma. The 2021 recipient was Dr. Henry Leung.      

SAH congratulates all award recipients for their dedicated service to the residents of Sault Ste. Marie and the Algoma region.

– 30 –